The Zada Chronicles….by Kelley

My boyfriend and I (and our own personal dogs) have been fostering rescue dogs for 11 years now. 

In fact, our boy Jack, was our first.  We obviously couldn’t let him go, but with some practice, we’ve been able to learn how to say goodbye when the time comes, and how to be happy for those we’ve helped find their way into new homes.

We’ve fostered dogs of all breeds, shapes, sizes, ages, and personalities.  Some needed more help than others.  Anya came to us with cigarette burns on her head and wanted nothing to do with myself and Daniel.  I give all the credit for her turnaround to Jack and Norah; they showed her what it was like to be happy and secure, and welcomed Anya into their pack right away.

Clover was so scared she wouldn’t stand up at the city shelter where I found her.  She urinated all over herself.  I remember seeing the surprise on the kennel staff’s face when I told them I wanted her.

Biggs came to us obese and shut down.  She didn’t interact with any of us for several weeks, and couldn’t even walk around the block at first, but eventually, she became my shadow.  My heart still bursts when I think of the first day she actually ran with my dogs off-leash on our morning walk by the L.A. River.

Yesterday we met Zada. 

I had seen her posted on Facebook; she had many fans at the South L.A. Shelter and her time was up.  She was an “evidence” dog there, but we don’t know the details.  She gave birth to three pups while incarcerated; they were all adopted or rescued, but Zada remained.  Scared and stressed, she was only sweet with everyone she met, but distant and sad.  Not knowing what we were really in for (we never are), Daniel and I committed to bringing her home and giving her what she needs to be happy again.  Or at least that’s the hope.

Day One:  I picked up Zada at Dawg Squad’s vet’s office.  She spent a few days there getting spayed, getting her teeth cleaned, and getting antibiotics for a skin infection.  (At the age of 7, one can just imagine how many litters of pups she’s had in her lifetime – I wonder where they all are now?)

She’s about 75 lbs., and could stand to lose a few, but when she doesn’t want to walk, well, she doesn’t.

zada car 1

She was carried to my car and silent all the way home.  Amazingly, in our driveway, she decided to walk into the back yard, which both myself and my back were grateful for.  She has her own little room off of our kitchen, safely out of reach from Jack, who would never bother her anyway, and Nessie, our other foster dog, an amazing little Pit mix who is all wags and kisses for everyone she meets.

But Zada doesn’t know that yet.  She’s done a little growling, a little eating, and a lot of sleeping.  I’m pretty sure she’s never slept on a dog bed until now.  And I’m pretty sure we will continue to meet Zada over and over again, each day a little bit different, a little bit more herself.

zada bed

Stay tuned.

Kelley

2 Responses to “The Zada Chronicles….by Kelley”

  1. Patti Baker Says:

    She is a beauty!
    Just beginning to bloom, thanks to a lot of wonderful generous people.
    Hmmmm…Maybe she’s Nessie’s Mom!

  2. Iris Says:

    She is an incredible dog! I met with her a few times at the shelter, she really only became fearful like that after her babies were gone. I found back rubs helped a lot and got her to relax. I am beyond happy to see her out of the shelter and in loving care. Thank you sooooooo much for taking her in. Trust me all the staff and volunteers at the shelter are very appreciative. She did such a good job caring for her babies in the shelter and it would have be heart breaking had she not made it out. thank you again from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

