A letter to Hadlee, my dog for 9 weeks

You can’t see me on Facebook.  You aren’t on Instagram, and you don’t have a cell phone, so I can’t call you or text you right now.  You don’t read emails.  But I’d like very much for you to know…

-For the past week, I dreaded dropping you off at your new adoptive home this afternoon.  Not because I don’t think your adoptive parents are as good as it gets (they are), but because I don’t want you to think I have abandoned you.

-I don’t know where you came from, or how you ended up at the Los Angeles city shelter where we found you with a broken leg and two broken teeth, but I assume that you’ve been through heartache before, even in your short life thus far of only a little over a year.

-I didn’t give you up to your new home because I didn’t love you enough to keep you.  Quite the contrary – I couldn’t love you any more than I do.  Same goes for your foster dad and your doggie foster siblings – Nessie, Maple, Fergus, and Ellie.  We love you more than you know.

-I didn’t abandon you today at your new home.  It took every ounce of courage I had to say goodbye to you and to walk out of that door today, especially as I saw the confusion in your eyes before I was about to leave you there.  I am here for you now, as I will continue to be every day of the rest of your life – whenever you and your adoptive family needs me.

-You were my foster dog, but more accurately, you were MY dog for those 9 weeks that you lived with us.  I love you as much as I love my adoptive dogs, and I will continue to do so, for as long as I am capable of loving anyone.

To those of you who question the long application process, the home visits, and the “hoops” you have to jump through to adopt a rescue dog – too bad.  We have invested in them, loved them, and have given them up, even when our hearts don’t want to.  We love them as our own, and we will do so for the rest of their lives.

My love to you, Hadlee, always.

Kelley

Hadlee just out of the shelter

Hadlee just out of the shelter 

Hadlee's new home

Hadlee’s new home

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

